She-polopolo coach, Mwape, names 32 for Turkish cup


Zambia senior women’s national team coach Bruce Mwape has named  his 32-member preliminary squad for the Turkish Women’s Cup to be staged in Alanya this month.

A statement from the Football Association of Zambia (FAZ), Mwape has recalled in-form Hellen Chanda who  last  featured  for the senior women’s team at the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games played in 2021.

He has retained the majority of local players that had a one-week camp last week for the Turkish Women’s Cup to be held from 13-22 February 2023 in Alanya.

Nine foreign-based players will be expected to connect directly to Turkey.

Skipper Barbara Banda will miss the four-team tournament that has attracted Venezuela, Uzbekistan, Slovenia and the Copper Queens due to club commitments.

FAZ indicated that the Zambian  team was  using the Turkish Cup as  part of preparation for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup which kicks off in July,this year.

The copper queens are in Group C alongside Spain, Costa Rica and Japan.

Read more :National female football team, Copper Queens, to train abroad for World Cup

The full squad  includes goal keepers  Catherine Musonda (INDENI Roses), Eunice Sakala (Nkwazi Queens), Hazel Nali (Fatih Vatan Sport-Turkey) and Loveness Tonge (Prison Leopards).

In defence ,there are Margaret Belemu (Hakkarigucu Spur-Turkey), Martha Tembo (BIIK Kazygurt Shymkent-Kazakhstan), Lushomo Mweemba and Agness Musesa.

Others are  Esther Siamfuko (all Green Buffaloes), Pauline Zulu, Misozi Musonda (both Elite Ladies), Esther Banda (BUSA), Judith Soko (YASA) and Jackline Nkole (INDENI Roses).

Midfielders includes Comfort Selemani (Elite Ladies), Misozi Zulu (Hakkarigucu Spur-Turkey), Ireen Lungu and  Hellen Chanda (both BIIK Kazygurt Shymkent-Kazakhstan).

Others  are Evarine Susan Katongo (ZISD Women), Mary Wilombe, Prisca Chilufya, Susan Banda and  Mary Mambwe (All Red Arrows).

In the offensive, Mwape has called  Xiomara Mapepa (Elite Ladies), Jessy Zulu (Green Buffaloes), Ochumba Oseke Lubanji (Red Arrows) and Eneless Phiri (Nkwazi Queens).

The striking force will  also encompasses  Regina Chanda (ZANACO Ladies), Hellen Mubanga, Rachael Nachula (both Zaragoza CFF-Spain), Grace Chanda and Rachael Kundananji (both Madrid CFF).

WARNING! All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express permission from ZAMBIA MONITOR.


Indo Bank boosts transport sector with extension of auto finance loans, as credit portfolio hits K4 billion

Previous article

UNECA seeks private sector participation in development of special economic zones in Southern Africa

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sports