Copper Queens nominated for 2023 CAF awards (See full list)


The Copper Queens have been nominated in the 2023 Confederation for African Football (CAF) Awards.

The Copper Queens are in the team of the year category alongside South Africa, Morocco, Nigeria and Senegal.

CAF announced the shortlists for the women’s categories for the CAF Awards 2023 earlier today on Monday via their website.

Read more: Copper Queens’ coach, Mwape, names provisional squad for 2024 WAFCON (see list)

Also, Copper Queens skipper, Barbra Banda, was named as part of the ten player shortlist for the player of the year award.

The forward made history by scoring the 1000th goal in the history of the FIFA Women’s World Cup at the footballing showpiece held earlier in the year.

The winners of each category would be picked after votes from a voting panel consisting of CAF Technical Committee, media professionals from Member Associations, Head Coaches & Captains of Member Associations and clubs involved in the group stages of the Interclub competitions.

The Award ceremony would take place on Monday, 11 December 2023, at the Palais des Congrès, Movenpick, Marrakech, Morocco.

Full List of Nominees (in alphabetic order by Member Association):

Player of the Year (Women)

1. Ajara Nchout Njoya (Cameroon, Internazionale Milano)

2. Anissa Lahmari (Morocco, Levante Las Planas)

3. Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

4. Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)

5. Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria, Barcelona)

6. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

7. Andile Dlamini (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

8. Hilda Magaia (South Africa, Sejong Sportstoto)

9. Thembi Kgatlana (South Africa, Racing Louisville)

10. Barbara Banda (Zambia, Shanghai Shengli)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Women)

1. Imane Abdelahad (Morocco, SC Casablanca)

2. Khadija Er-Rmichi (Morocco, AS FAR)

3. Chiamaka Nnadozie (Nigeria, Paris FC)

4. Andile Dlamini (South Africa,Mamelodi Sundowns)

5. Kaylin Swart (South Africa, JVW)

Interclub Player of the Year (Women)

1. Refilwe Tholakele (Botswana, Mamelodi Sundowns)

2. Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)

3. Fatima Tagnaout (Morocco, AS FAR)

4. Ghizlaine Chebbak (Morocco, AS FAR)

5. Lebohang Ramalepe (South Africa, Mamelodi Sundowns)

Young Player of the Year (not more than 21 years)

1. Comfort Yeboah (Ghana, Ampem Darkoa)

2. Nesryne El Chad (Morocco, Lille)

3. Deborah Abiodun (Nigeria, Pittsburg Panthers)

4. Esther Opeyemi Ajakaye (Nigeria, Delta Queens)

5. Thubelihle Shamase (South Africa, University of Johannesburg FC)

Coach of the Year (Women)

1. Mehdi El Qaichouri (SC Casablanca)

2. Reynald Pedros (Morocco)

3. Randy Waldrum (Nigeria)

4. Desiree Ellis (South Africa)

5. Jerry Tshabalala (Mamelodi Sundowns)

National Team of the Year (Women)

1. Morocco

2. Nigeria

3. Senegal

4. South Africa

5. Zambia

Club of the Year (Women)

1. Ampem Darkoa (Ghana)

2. AS FAR (Morocco)

3. SC Casablanca (Morocco)

4. Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

5. JKT Queens (Tanzania)

WARNING! All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express permission from ZAMBIA MONITOR.

Minister Tayali awarded K450,000 for aggravated assault by police officer

Previous article

Judiciary union accuses commission of interfering with bargaining process, threatens action (video)

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sports