Govt says fight against cholera intensified, as outbreak spreads to 12 districts (video)


The government has announced enhanced measures to tackle cholera outbreak in the country, as the health challenge spreads to 12 districts out of Lusaka.

The measures were announced by the Minister of Health, Syvia Masebo, Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, Gary Nkombo, and Minister of Water Supply and Sanitation, Mike Mposha.

Generated by Embed Youtube Video online

In giving an update on behalf of the government, Mposha stated that they had faced some challenges in the treatment of water as most treatment plants kept breaking down due to their old state.

Speaking at the inter-ministerial media briefing in Lusaka on Thursday, Mposha added that despite experiencing delays in the procurement of spare parts to stock up electrical and mechanical components, the Ministry had ensured that it stocked enough spare parts to avoid prolonged breakdown of water supply.

Read more: Govt reports seven dead from Cholera in 24 hours, largest in a single day

He revealed that stringent measures have been put in place to ensure an increase in the supply of clean water and extension of sewer network to non-serviced areas to fight cholera.

At the same event, Minister Nkombo added that they had upscaled the cleaning exercises in communities, markets and all other public gatherings to enhance the safety of the public from cholera.

He urged members of the public to play their role in the fight by ensuring that cleanliness was observed in areas they operated from.

“We have also revolutionized the cleaning of drainages, as you are aware blocked drainages are a great source of the epidemic,” Nkombo explained.

Providing update on cholera figures, Minister-in-charge of Health stated that cholera outbreak had been recorded in 12 districts and that it had gone beyond Lusaka.

In the Eastern Province, Masebo said the outbreak was recorded in Petauke, Vubwi and Chadiza districts.

“In Central province, we have Mumbwa, Kapiri Mposhi, Kabwe and Chimbo. In the Northern province we have Mpulungu,” she said.

WARNING! All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express permission from ZAMBIA MONITOR.

Sampa assumes authority over Copperbelt Province PF structure, suspends chairperson Mwale

Previous article

‘Shut up!’ MMD leader says ex-President Lungu has no moral right to speak on corruption, democracy (video)

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Metro