Editor's PickPower and Politics

Breaking! Historical moment, as Second Vice Speaker of Parliament, Moyo, declares 9 seats vacant


Moses Moyo, the Second Vice Speaker of Parliament, has reportedly declared a record nine seats belonging to the opposition Patriotic Front (PF) vacant.

Moyo announced in Parliament on Wednesday that he decided to declare the nine seats of Members of Parliament vacant after they lost their case in the Constitutional Court challenging their expulsion by the Miles Sampa-led PF faction.

The affected constituencies are:

1. Pambashe: Ronald Kaoma Chitotela

2. Kawambwa: Nickson Chilangwa

3. Kamfinsa: Christopher Kangombe

4. Chitambo: Remember Chanda Mutale

5. Mporokoso: Brian Mundubile

6. Shiwangandu: Stephen Kampyongo

7. Chilubi: Mulenga Fube

8. Lunte: Mutotwe Kafwaya

9. Musonda Mpankata-Lupososhi

Read More: Constitutional Court declares lack of jurisdiction in PF lawmakers’ expulsion case

Moyo allegedly refused to honour a letter written by Sampa renouncing the expulsion, stating that Morgan Ng’ona, the Sampa faction Secretary-General, should have written the letter of renunciation to the Speaker.

He also refused to acknowledge iformation about an active court process in the Constitutional Court against the earlier judgment. More details to follow…

WARNING! All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express permission from ZAMBIA MONITOR.

PF factional leader, Sampa, reportedly dissolves Central Committee, assumes role of Secretary-General

Previous article

Crisis brews in Sampa’s PF faction, as sacked leader of opposition, Chabinga, gets 48-hour ultimatum to answer query

Next article

You may also like


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *